V N Karazin Kharkiv National University

Kharkiv, Ukraine

V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University is one of the oldest universities of Eastern Europe as well as Ukraine and was founded in year 1804 by V. N. Karazin. It is the only university which has trained 3 nobel prize laureats like biologist I. Mechnikov, the economist S. Kuznets, and the physicist L. Landau.

The V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University started training foreign students in year 1948 and till date more than 5,000 students from across the world have graduated from this university. In the year 1961, preparatory course for foreign students was started and since then 12,000 students have acquired preparatory course at V. N. Karazin Kharkiv National University. Today, the university offers graduate, post graduate & specialist courses in English, Russian & Ukrainian medium.

The university has the following faculties :

  • Faculty of Medicine
  • Faculty of Biology
  • Faculty of Chemistry
  • Faculty of Computer Sciences
  • Faculty of Ecology
  • Faculty of Economics
  • Faculty of Foreign Languages
  • Faculty of Geology, Geography, Recreation and Tourism
  • Faculty of History
  • Faculty of International Economic Relations and Travel Business
  • Faculty of Law
  • Faculty Mathematics and Computer Sciences
  • Faculty of Philology
  • Faculty of Philosophy
  • Faculty of Physics
  • Faculty of Physics and Energy
  • Faculty of Physics and Technology
  • Faculty of Psychology
  • Faculty of Radiophysics, Biomedical Electronics and Computer Systems
  • Faculty of Sociology

The university started a centre for international cooperation in year 2012 for students willing to take MBBS admission in Kharkiv. The centre has relation with major universities of Europe and other countries and promotes exchange of foreign students through various exchange programs. The centre hosts various events where professors are invited from different countries to give guest lectures on modern technological advances related to the field of medicine to students.